The Greater Toronto Area (GTA) is spatially partitioned into six Municipalities namely, City of Toronto (formerly Metropolitan Toronto), City of Hamilton (formerly Regional Municipality of Hamilton-Wentworth), Regional Municiaplities of Durham, York, Peel, and Halton. Each of these regions can in turn be spatially partitioned in a number of local municipalities. Overall, the total number of local areas in the GTA is 36.

Information on demographic characteristics of GTA residents and on travel in the GTA are summarized at the local municipality level.